Collections

The East Asia Collections of the Bavarian State Library comprise around 320,000 original volumes in Chinese, Japanese and Korean.

OPACplus of the Bavarian State Library

CHINESE COLLECTION

The Bayerische Staatsbibliothek owns an extensive Chinese collection of international renown. It amounts to around 230,000 printed volumes and 3,000 manuscripts. Since it has grown over a long period of time and Chinese materials have been collected in targeted manner since the 19th century, the collection covers substantially all areas of traditional Chinese knowledge.

It stands out in particular for its excellent old stock with regard to both volume and quality. Among the most valuable items are around 20 printed works form the Song (960 – 1279) and Yuan (1279 – 1368) dynasties, as well as over 100 printed works from the Ming dynasty (1368 – 1644), among them a number of unique specimens which have survived only in Munich.

Among the total of around 3,000 Chinese manuscripts there are, among other things, various Buddhist and Daoist texts, popular writings, as well as decrees, deeds and contracts. Three manuscript scrolls from Dunhuang from the time of the Tang dynasty (618 – 907) are particularly outstanding. The largest part of the Chinese manuscripts is formed by the around 2,800 predominantly religious texts written in Chinese script from the people of the Yao who were native to southern China, Thailand, Laos and Vietnam.

The currently acquired original-language publications are predominantly modern text editions and current research literature on pre-republican China (up to 1911). Moreover, the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek also collects Sinological research publications in western languages on a large scale, which are acquired by the Department of Collection Development and Cataloguing.

Since the conclusion of the retrospective conversion of the Chinese card catalogues in the year 2011, all Chinese titles have been searchable in the OPACplus/ BSB catalogue of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in the original Chinese script and Latin transcription (Pinyin).

History of the Chinese Collection

Outset in the 17th century

The beginnings of the Chinese collection go back to the first half of the 17th century. The earliest catalogue entry of Chinese books in the Munich Court Library founded in 1558 by Duke Albrecht V, the later Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, can be found in a book register compiled around the year 1618.

At the time, the house of Wittelsbach shared their enthusiasm for curiosities and exotic things with many other ruling houses. Chinese books started arriving in Europe in the 16th century via traders, travellers and Christian missionaries. Since the Wittelsbach dukes were major supporters of the Jesuit order, including the Jesuit missionary activities in east Asia, it can be assumed that the Chinese works which reached the Court Library in the 17th and 18th century are largely presents by Jesuit missionaries, among them also prints of the Christian mission produced in China.

18th and 19th century

At the end of the 18th and the start of the 19th century, further Chinese titles came to Munich in the course of the abolition of the Jesuit order, the secularisation and the transfer of the Mannheim court library. Until this time, the Chinese collection consisted of a small number of items, albeit some of them very precious, which had reached Munich coincidentally.

This was to change soon: By several bulk acquisitions, the library achieved to establish one of the largest Chinese collections outside of China in Munich by the start of the 20th century. To the around 3,500 Chinese volumes purchased by the German Orientalist Karl Friedrich Neumann (1793 – 1870) in Canton in the year 1830, around 2,700 volumes of the Italian traveller and trader Onorato Martucci (1774 – 1846) were added in 1851. The outstanding library of the French Orientalist Étienne-Marc Quatremère (1782 – 1857) acquired in 1858 contained approximately another 2,000 Chinese and Manchurian works.

20th and 21st century

Georg Reismüller (1881 – 1936) purchased around 18,500 Chinese books for the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek during an acquisition trip on behalf of the Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen Wissenschaft (Emergency Association of German Science) in 1928/29.

The Chinese collection survived the Second World War without losses. In contrast, the western-language literature about the far east suffered great losses through the war. By acquiring the private library of the Sinologist and art historian Carl Hentze (1883 – 1975) in the year 1953, a large part of these gaps caused by the war could be closed again.

In the 70s and 80s of the 20th century, generous budgets enabled the library to expand the collection further. The Chinese collection is continued up to this day, with an annual increase of around 1,500 volumes.

Description of the collection

Chinese manuscripts and prints up to late Ming / early Qing

The earliest Chinese works of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek can be summed up under the following topical groups (in accordance with Stephan, Renate: Chinesische und manjurische Handschriften und seltene Drucke. Teil 2. Chinesische Drucke und Handschriften in der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München. (Chinese and Manchurian manuscripts and rare printed works. Part 2. Chinese prints and manuscripts in the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek Munich), Stuttgart, 2014. Verzeichnis der Orientalischen Handschriften in Deutschland, vol. XII,2. p. XIV-XX):

Early Buddhist prints and manuscripts

The earliest Chinese works of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek are of Buddhist origin. The Buddhist print "Bao qie yin tuo luo ni jing" (Res/L.sin. C 590) from the Leifeng pagoda in Hangzhou goes back to the year 975 AD. On the earliest Chinese manuscript of the Chinese collection the year 673 is written (Cod.sin. 4). This manuscript is one out of three Dunhuang manuscripts held by the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek. The classification marks of the other two manuscripts are Cod.sin. 89 and Cod.sin. 90.

The Bayerische Staatsbibliothek also owns a manuscript scroll belonging to the Jin tripitaka (Res/4 L.sin. C 266), of which only one single specimen exists worldwide, as well as a leporello from the Xixia tripitaka in Tangut script (Res/4 L.sin. C 267).

Further, two leporellos from the Chongning tripitaka are also particularly rare (Res/4 L.sin. C 247 and 248): Of this canon, only some individual chapters are left in China, and only few complete editions in Japan. Res/4 L.sin. 248 is dated to 1110. Res/4 L.sin. C 247 is a special case. Here, a benefactor had commissioned a copy of the diamond sutra from the Chongning tripitaka. The chapter in question bears a donation note of 1162. This partial edition is presumed to be even rarer than the complete canon.

Moreover, also parts of the Puning and/or Quisha tripitaka (Res/4 L.sin. C 251-1 to 4, Res/4 L.sin. C 299, 308, 309) from the time of the Yuan dynasty form part of the Chinese collection.

Early Daoist prints and manuscripts

Among the Daoist prints, of which the library holds a comparatively smaller number, the "Yu long ji" (Res/ L.sin. C 632) should be mentioned, which was published by the well-known family of publishers Yu 余 in Jianyang in the time of the Yuan dynasty. The seals of famous owners testify to its high value.

Two prints from the Ming period, both of them with frontispiece, have to be dated to 1439 (Res/4 L.sin. C 229) and to 1450 (Res/4 L.sin. C 219) on the basis of the donation notes they bear. Both texts are also included in the Daozang, but are present here in a different version.

The manuscript Cod.sin. 136 from the Ming period has an elaborate frontispiece in gold against an indigo-blue background. The very high-quality craftwork and the mentioned well-known persons indicate that the three leporellos were produced at the imperial court and were possibly intended as presents by the emperor to important persons.

Palace and academy prints of the Ming dynasty

The Bayerische Staatsbibliothek owns a number of titles which are from one of three most important institutions of the Ming period where books were printed: the imperial printing workshop Jing chang 經廠 in the authority of Si li jian 司禮監, the Southern Academy in Nanjing (Nanjing guo zi jian 南京國子監) and the Northern Academy in Beijing (Beijing guo zi jian 北京國子監).

The commentary on the "Shi jing" written by Zhu Xi (1130 – 1200), the "Shi ji zhuan", is from the Si li jian and represents the only palace print from the Ming period held by the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (4 L.sin. I 85).

Of the collection of the 13 classics and their commentaries "Shi san jing zhu shu", three titles were crafted by the Northern Academy: "Lun yu zhu shu jie jing" (4 L.sin. C 282), "Mengzi zhu shu jie jing" (4 L.sin. C 283) and "Zhou yi jian yi" (4 L.sin. C 284). Four of them were most probably printed by Li Yuanyang (1497 – 1580) in Fujian: "Zhou yi jian yi" (4 L.sin. C 157), "Chun qiu Gu Liang zhuan zhu shu" (4 L.sin. C 281), "Li ji zhu shu" (L.sin. C 639) and "Shang shu zhu shu" (L.sin. C 641).

The encyclopaedia "Yu hai" (4 L.sin. Aa 50) is the only print from the Southern Academy owned by the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek. The sheets show that they were printed with different printing plates which partly go back to the Yuan period. This means that the encyclopaedia is a so-called di xiu 遞修 edition, i.e. an edition that was produced in the course of a period of at least two dynasties.

Prints of the princes of the Ming dynast

y

The prints by feudal princes of the Ming period (fan fu ke ben 藩府刻本) represent a peculiarity of Chinese book-printing history. Under the reign of the Ming emperor Yongle the political influence and the military power of the imperial princes was strongly curbed. Having become politically powerless, they shifted increasingly to artistic and intellectual fields of activities, which also found expression in book printing. They had the financial means and the time to produce the predominantly outstandingly collated texts and likewise outstandingly crafted prints and manuscripts without commercial interests having to play a role in the process.

The Bayerische Staatsbibliothek owns two of these rare printed works: On the basis of the publisher's name, the "Hong wu zheng yun" (4 L.sin. A 122) is clearly associated with the prince Zhuang of Heng, Zhu Houqiao. The "Wen xuan" (4 L.sin. I 24) was published in the fiefdom of Tang, but is impossible to date exactly.

Prints by the publisher Mao Jin

The famous bibliophile, collector and publisher Mao Jin 毛晉 (1599 – 1659) from the late Ming period had an enormously extensive collection of writings which he had partly purchased and partly produced himself. By his facsimile copies of Song and Yuan prints, he made an important contribution to safeguarding the original design of long-lost editions.

The Bayerische Staatsbibliothek holds his complete 17 dynasty histories (4 L.sin. D 165, 166, 167, 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 179, 180, 181, 187, 191, 192, 193 and 197), partly also second copies of them, the production of which he had begun between 1628 and 1644 in the time of the Ming dynasty. He worked the plates over at the beginning of the Qing dynasty from 1648 to 1656 and started printing in 1656. Since the publication of the dynasty histories stretched over two dynasties, also this edition is a so-called di xiu edition.

The Bayerische Staatsbibliothek has a large collection of Mao Jin prints: besides the dynasty histories it also owns the extensive omnibus work "Jin dai bi shu" (4 L.sin. Aa 308), a collection of 60 dramas (4 L.sin. Aa 52) and a number of art-historical writings published by him (4 L.sin. K 121, 125, 142, 150 and 293), among other things.

Chinese manuscripts and printed works of the Qing period

The Chinese collection of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek from the Qing period is a representative cross section of the Chinese literature of this time, since the library acquired not only literature of the political and intellectual elite of China, but also other literature, which was available predominantly on the book markets in the south of the Chinese empire. Thus, materials could be preserved in Munich which cannot be found in Chinese libraries, since libraries in China started collecting such items only at a time when they were largely no longer available locally.

Among the manuscripts and prints of the Qing period there is the literature of the elite (court prints, prints by administrative units, imperial decrees, deeds, bibliophile private prints, etc.) and likewise so-called popular or everyday literature, among other things novels and collections of stories, musical comedies and theatre plays, almanacs, prophecy books, general encyclopaedias, medical handbooks, religious treatises and training materials for the exams of imperial officials. Also a number of image albums and paintings on so-called pith papers form part of the collection, which were produced in China for export during the 18th and 19th century.

Particular mention should be made of the various editions of the "Jieziyuan huazhuan" 芥子園畫傳 ("Manual of the Mustard Seed Garden") and of the "Shizhuzhai shuhuapu" 十竹斎書画譜 ("A Manual of Calligraphy and Painting from the Ten Bamboo Studio") from the 18th and 19th century. These two works are famous painting manuals and outstanding works of Chinese colour woodblock printing, of which the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek owns a number of very artistic specimens (e.g. 4 L.sin. K 290).

Chinese manuscripts and prints of the Christian mission

The prints and manuscripts of the Christian mission produced in China during the Qing period represent a peculiarity. The Bayerische Staatsbibliothek has 27 prints and manuscripts which are related to the Christian mission in China. The prints are all produced by the Chinese block printing method, even if they are partly written completely in Latin or are reproduced only in transcription.

There are three titles related to the so-called Chinese rites controversy (Cod.sin. 30 and the second specimen Cod.sin. 30 a, Cod.sin. 2931 and Xyl. 51). One title is related to the so-called calendar controversy (Cod.sin. 31). Among the rather rare prints are "Tian zhu jiang sheng chu xiang jing ji", of which the library holds two not completely identical specimens (Cod.sin. 23 and 4 L.sin. C 138), "Ge zhi cao" (Cod.sin. 26), "Relatio sepulturae …" (Cod.sin. 28), "Innocentia victrix …" (Cod.sin. 31), "Titulus honorificus …" (Cod.sin. 112), "Apographum eius elogij …" (4 L.sin. C 136), "Brevis relatio …" (Xyl. 51), "Gang jian jia zi tu" (2 L.sin. D 6) and "Hong piao" (Cod.sin. 2931). Among the manuscripts, a Chinese-Spanish dictionary (Cod.sin. 3) of 1684 should be mentioned in particular besides the "Notitia Linguae Sinicae" (Cod.sin. 1). Varos "Arte de la lengua Mandarina" (Cod.sin. 29) is particularly rare : Of the around 40 copies which were printed originally, only around 14 are known to have been preserved.

Generally, the mission prints are from the collection of the house of Wittelsbach or from monastery libraries, which were closed in the course of the secularisation in 1803/04. However, the example of the "Liber organicus" (Cod.sin. 24), which formed part of the collection of the bibliophile Hand Adam von Reisach (1765 – 1820), shows that this association should not be made automatically.

Literature (selected)

Höllmann, Thomas; Friedrich, Michael (Hrsg.): Handschriften der Yao. Teil 1. Stuttgart 2004. [Verzeichnis der Orientalischen Handschriften in Deutschland, Bd. XLIV,1]

Reismüller, Georg: „Karl Friedrich Neumann. Seine Lern- und Wanderjahre, seine chinesische Büchersammlung.“ In: Aufsätze zur Kultur- und Sprachgeschichte vornehmlich des Orient. Ernst Kuhn zum 70. Geburtstag am 7. Februar 1916 gewidmet von Freunden und Schülern. München 1916, S. 437-456.

Rückert, Ingrid: „‚Die seltensten und kostbarsten Werke chinesischer Literatur’: Karl Friedrich Neumann als Begründer der chinesischen Büchersammlung an der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.“ In: Saeculum60/I (2010), S. 115-142.

Stephan, Renate: „Die Erwerbung chinesischer Literatur für die Münchner Hofbibliothek.“ In: Eikelmann, R. (Hrsg.): Die Wittelsbacher und das Reich der Mitte. 400 Jahre China und Bayern. (Ausstellung, Bayerisches Nationalmuseum, München) München 2009, S. 449-454.

Stephan, Renate: Chinesische und manjurische Handschriften und seltene Drucke. Teil 2. Chinesische Drucke und Handschriften in der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München. Stuttgart 2014. [Verzeichnis der Orientalischen Handschriften in Deutschland, Bd. XII,2].

Tabery, Thomas: „Digitalisierung und Neukatalogisierung chinesischer Handschriften und Drucke der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.“ In: Zeitschrift für Bibliothekswesen und Bibliographie ZfBB 63 (2016), 2, S. 82-89.

JAPANESE COLLECTION

The Japanese collection consists of roughly 90,000 printed volumes. For this collection, some major purchases were especially important: Several dozen prints from the Meiji era (1868 to 1905), photographs and playing cards were acquired from a Bamberg chemist in Yokohama. In 1972, 190 printings from the pre-Meiji period were acquired in Holland. From 1986 onwards, around 700 further ancient Japanese titles in 2,654 volumes were taken over from an excellent Japanese scholars’ library. The collection comprises a large number of early and precious prints and manuscripts. A specimen of the oldest Japanese print, a Hyakumantō darani (L.jap. C 591) from 764-770, is kept in a carved wooden pagoda. Of particular importance is the magnificent manuscript of the novel “The Tale of Genji” from 1615 which served as a wedding gift for a member of the ruling Tokugawa family (Cod.jap. 18).

KOREAN COLLECTION

The small Korean collection comprises about 3,000 titles. About 610 volumes were printed before 1900. The majority of the latter ones dates back as far as the 17th century. Outstanding specimens are chapters of the Buddhist canon printed on the Ganghwa island in between 1236 and 1251 (4 L.cor. C 81), whose printing blocks are still all preserved in the Haeinsa monastery, and a catalogue of medicinal products printed with clay printing types in 1433 (L.cor. M 7).

續画品 二十四孝圖並贊 春秋榖梁傳註疏 稗海 古文眉詮 崇禎文書 (1628-1644) 新刊宋學士全集 古今圖書集成 藥師琉璃光如來本願功德經 沈香寶扇 沙彌尼戒經 說鈴. 3, Bd. 3, 前集, Di 11-13 ce, 後集, Di 14, 15 ce 攝大乘論 霞客遊記. 2 增補繪像山海經廣註. 1, Xu, Mu lu usw., Ch. 1-2 縉雲縣志 庚子道の記 紅票 說文解字. 4 [詩集傳] 廿二史攷異. 25 秘書廿八種. 4, Di 4 ce : 吳越春秋 龍學孫公春秋經解 讃夲 狂歌東都花日千兩. 1, 戯場之部 金瓶梅 (第一奇書). 6 單騎要略被甲辨 神代正語. 全 女今川益鑑 泰安縣志 鍼灸重寶記綱目 借月山房彙鈔 千本桜後日仇討 陸放翁全集. [殘]: 渭南文集卷47 - 50缺; 劔南詩稾卷 1-12, 卷74-85缺. 御撰資治通鑑綱目三編 正宗梅李爭花 太平廣記 孔子一代記 瘋症奇方 讀書雜釋. 1 新草二行節用集 新出解心 月令粹編. 1 桂苑玉局心懺全品 清邑泮宮樂舞圖說 典制文環 狂斎百図 古文眉詮 資治通鑑綱目三編 前訓繪抄 人譜類記 玉堂叢語 增補萬病回春 印籠譜. 2, 坤 新草二行節用集 長崎土産 讀書雜志 金石錄 野良姿記評林 広象棋譜 苗防備覽 圖繪宝鑑 廿二史攷異. 10 重刻書經嫏嬛集註 續畫品錄 董文敏公畫禪隨筆 正卜考 連筠簃叢書 神事行燈 貞観政要 廿二史攷異. 10 闕里文獻考 南山俗語考 續畫品錄 新增幼學故事瓊林 やしない草 漢碑錄文 本朝神社考 秘書廿八種. 27, Di 27 ce : 端木詩, 小爾雅 泰山志. 6 戒殺放生文 陝西通志 とりあげばゞ心得草 醫方大成論 春秋疑義 青蘭附荐 [南音] 閱微草堂筆記. 5, Di 5 : 槐西雜志, Juan 1-2 農政全書. 3 讀書齋叢書. 3, 丙集 : Di 5, 6 ben 大清律例增訂會通新纂 悟真篇丹註 農政全書. 21 四書通證 增補律賦新機全註 新刻繪像忠義水滸全傳 日本三代實錄 清邑泮宮樂舞圖說 本草求真. 10 類書纂要 新改正摄津國名所舊蹟細見大繪圖

Sammlungen

Die Ostasiensammlung der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek zählt rund 320.000 originalsprachige Bände in den Sprachen Chinesisch, Japanisch und Koreanisch.

OPACplus der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek

Chinesische Sammlung

Die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek besitzt eine umfangreiche chinesische Sammlung von internationalem Rang. Sie zählt rund 230.000 gedruckte Bände und 3.000 Handschriften. Da sie über einen langen Zeitraum gewachsen ist und ab dem 19. Jahrhundert chinesisches Material gezielt gesammelt wurde, deckt sie im Wesentlichen alle Bereiche traditionellen chinesischen Wissens ab.

Sie zeichnet sich vor allem durch ihren in Bezug auf Umfang und Qualität hervorragenden Altbestand aus. Zu den wertvollsten Stücken zählen rund 20 Drucke aus den Dynastien Song (960-1279) und Yuan (1279-1368) sowie über einhundert Drucke aus der Ming-Dynastie (1368-1644), darunter einige Unikate, die sich nur noch in München nachweisen lassen.

Unter den insgesamt etwa 3.000 chinesischen Handschriften befinden sich u.a. verschiedene buddhistische und daoistische Texte, volkstümliche Schriften sowie Erlasse, Urkunden und Verträge. Besonders hervorzuheben sind drei tangzeitliche (618-907) Schriftrollen aus Dunhuang. Den größten Teil der chinesischen Handschriften bilden die rund 2.800 in chinesischer Schrift verfassten, überwiegend religiösen Texte des in Südchina, Thailand, Laos und Vietnam beheimateten Volkes der Yao.

Der Schwerpunkt der laufenden originalsprachigen Erwerbungen liegt auf modernen Texteditionen und aktueller Forschungsliteratur zum vorrepublikanischen China (bis 1911). Die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek sammelt darüber hinaus in erheblichem Umfang auch sinologische Fachpublikationen in westlichen Sprachen, die von der Abteilung Bestandsentwicklung und Erschließung erworben werden.

Seit Abschluss der Retrokonversion der chinesischen Kartenkataloge im Jahr 2011 sind sämtliche chinesische Titel im OPAC der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek in chinesischer Originalschrift und lateinischer Umschrift (Pinyin) recherchierbar.

Geschichte der chinesischen Sammlung

Anfänge im 17. Jahrhundert

Die Anfänge der chinesischen Sammlung reichen bis in die erste Hälfte des 17. Jahrhunderts zurück. Der früheste Nachweis chinesischer Bücher in der 1558 von Herzog Albrecht V. gegründeten Münchener Hofbibliothek, der späteren Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek, findet sich in einem Bücherverzeichnis, das um das Jahr 1618 entstanden ist.

Die Begeisterung für Kurioses und Exotisches teilte das Haus Wittelsbach in jenen Tagen mit vielen anderen Herrscherhäusern. Chinesische Bücher gelangten ab dem 16. Jahrhundert über Kaufleute, Reisende und christliche Missionare nach Europa. Da die Wittelsbacher Herzöge große Förderer der Jesuiten einschließlich der jesuitischen Missionstätigkeit in Ostasien waren, kann man davon ausgehen, dass es sich bei den chinesischen Werken, die im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert nach München in die Hofbibliothek gelangten, überwiegend um Geschenke jesuitischer Missionare handelt, darunter auch in China hergestellte Drucke der christlichen Mission.

18. und 19. Jahrhundert

Am Ende des 18. und zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts kamen im Zuge der Auflösung des Jesuitenordens, der Säkularisation und der Überführung der Mannheimer Hofbibliothek weitere chinesische Titel nach München. Bis dahin bestand die chinesische Sammlung lediglich aus wenigen, wenn auch zum Teil sehr kostbaren, zufällig nach München gelangten Stücken.

Dies sollte sich bald ändern: Durch mehrere Sammelkäufe gelang es bis Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts, in München eine der größten chinesischen Sammlungen außerhalb Chinas aufzubauen. Zu den etwa 3.500 chinesischen Bänden, die der deutsche Orientalist Karl Friedrich Neumann (1793-1870) im Jahr 1830 in Kanton erworben hatte, kamen 1851 rund 2.700 Bände des italienischen Reisenden und Händlers Onorato Martucci (1774-1846) hinzu. Die 1858 angekaufte, hervorragende Bibliothek des französischen Orientalisten Étienne-Marc Quatremère (1782-1857) enthielt weitere rund 2.000 chinesische und mandschurische Werke.

20. und 21. Jahrhundert

Georg Reismüller (1881-1936) erwarb 1928/29 während einer Kaufreise im Auftrag der Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen Wissenschaft rund 18.500 chinesische Bücher für die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, wie die Bibliothek seit 1919 hieß.

Den Zweiten Weltkrieg überstand die chinesische Sammlung ohne Verluste. Im Gegensatz dazu hatte die westsprachige Literatur zum Fernen Osten durch den Krieg jedoch große Verluste zu verzeichnen. Durch den Erwerb der Privatbibliothek des Sinologen und Kunsthistorikers Carl Hentze (1883-1975) im Jahr 1953 konnte ein Großteil dieser Kriegslücken geschlossen werden.

In den 70er und 80er Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts war es durch großzügige Etats möglich, die Sammlung weiter auszubauen. Die chinesische Sammlung wird bis heute kontinuierlich weitergeführt, jährlich kommen ca. 1.500 chinesische Bände hinzu.

Sammlungsbeschreibung

Chinesische Handschriften und Drucke bis Ende Ming/Anfang Qing

Die ältesten Sinica der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek lassen sich zu folgenden thematischen Gruppen zusammenfassen (nach Stephan, Renate: Chinesische und manjurische Handschriften und seltene Drucke. Teil 2. Chinesische Drucke und Handschriften in der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München. Stuttgart 2014. Verzeichnis der Orientalischen Handschriften in Deutschland, Bd. XII,2, S. XIV-XX):

Frühe buddhistische Drucke und Handschriften

Die ältesten Sinica der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek sind buddhistischer Herkunft. Der buddhistische Druck Bao qie yin tuo luo ni jing (Res/L.sin. C 590 ) aus der Donnergipfelpagode in Hangzhou stammt aus dem Jahr 975 n. Chr. Die älteste chinesische Handschrift der Sinica-Sammlung trägt die Jahresangabe 673 (Cod.sin. 4). Es handelt sich dabei um eine von drei Dunhuang-Handschriften im Besitz der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek. Die beiden anderen tragen die Signaturen Cod.sin. 89 und Cod.sin. 90.

Ebenfalls im Besitz der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek befindet sich eine Rolle aus dem weltweit nur in einem Exemplar vorhandenen Jin-Tripitaka (Res/4 L.sin. C 266) sowie ein Leporello aus dem Xixia-Tripitaka in tangutischer Schrift (Res/4 L.sin. C 267).

Als besondere Raritäten sind außerdem zwei Leporellos aus dem Chongning-Tripitaka anzusehen (Res/4 L.sin. C 247 und 248): Von diesem Kanon sind in China nur noch vereinzelte Kapitel vorhanden, in Japan noch wenige vollständige Ausgaben. Res/4 L.sin. 248 ist auf 1110 datiert. Einen Sonderfall stellt Res/4 L.sin. C 247 dar: Hier hatte ein Stifter den Auftrag zu einem Abzug des Diamantsutras aus dem Chongning-Tripitaka gegeben. Das vorliegende Kapitel trägt einen Stiftervermerk von 1162. Diese Teilausgabe gilt als noch seltener als der gesamte Kanon.

Zur Sinica-Sammlung gehören darüber hinaus Teile aus dem yuanzeitlichen Puning- und/oder Qisha-Tripitaka (Res/4 L.sin. C 251-1 bis 4, Res/4 L.sin. C 299, 308, 309).

Frühe daoistische Drucke und Handschriften

Von den weniger zahlreich vertretenen daoistischen Drucken ist vor allem das Yu long ji (Res/L.sin.C 632) zu nennen, das in der Yuan-Dynastie in Jianyang von der bekannten Verlegerfamilie Yu余 herausgegeben wurde. Die Siegel berühmter Besitzer zeugen von seinem hohen Wert.

Zwei mingzeitliche Drucke, beide mit Frontispiz, sind aufgrund von Stiftervermerken auf 1439 (Res/4 L.sin. C 229) bzw. auf 1450 (Res/4 L.sin. C 219) zu datieren. Die beiden Texte sind auch in den Daozang aufgenommen, liegen jedoch hier in einer anderen Version vor.

Die mingzeitliche Handschrift Cod.sin. 136 ist mit einem aufwendigen Frontispiz in Gold auf indigoblauem Untergrund versehen. Die sehr hochwertige Ausführung und die genannten prominenten Persönlichkeiten sprechen dafür, dass die drei Leporellos am kaiserlichen Hof angefertigt wurden und möglicherweise als Geschenke des Kaisers an bedeutende Personen gedacht waren.

Palast- und Akademiedrucke aus der Ming-Dynastie

Die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek besitzt eine ganze Reihe von Titeln, die aus einer der drei wichtigsten mingzeitlichen Buchdruck-Einrichtungen stammen: der kaiserlichen Druckwerkstatt Jing chang經廠im Ritenamt Si li jian 司禮監, der Südlichen Akademie in Nanjing (Nanjing guo zi jian南京國子監) und der Nördlichen Akademie in Beijing (Beijing guo zi jian北京國子監).

Der von Zhu Xi (1130-1200) verfasste Kommentar zum Shi jing, das Shi ji zhuan, stammt aus dem Si li jian und ist der einzige mingzeitliche Palastdruck im Besitz der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek (4 L.sin. I 85).

Aus der Sammlung der 13 Klassiker und ihrer Kommentare Shi san jing zhu shu stammen drei Titel, die von der Nördlichen Akademie hergestellt wurden: Lun yu zhu shu jie jing (4 L.sin. C 282), Mengzi zhu shu jie jing (4 L.sin. C 283) und Zhou yi jian yi (4 L.sin. C 284). Vier davon wurden mit ziemlicher Sicherheit von Li Yuanyang (1497-1580) in Fujian gedruckt: Zhou yi jian yi (4 L.sin. C 157), Chun qiu Gu Liang zhuan zhu shu (4 L.sin. C 281), Li ji zhu shu (L.sin. C 639) und Shang shu zhu shu (L.sin. C 641).

Die Enzyklopädie Yu hai (4 L.sin. Aa 50) ist der einzige Druck aus der Südlichen Akademie im Besitz der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek. An den Blättern ist der Abzug von unterschiedlichen Druckplatten erkennbar, die zum Teil noch aus der Yuan-Zeit stammen. Damit liegt eine sogenannte di xiu遞修-Ausgabe vor, d.h. eine Ausgabe, die über mindestens zwei Dynastien hinweg entstanden ist.

Drucke der Lehensprinzen aus der Ming-Dynastie

Die Drucke mingzeitlicher Lehensprinzen (fan fu ke ben藩府刻本) stellen eine Besonderheit der chinesischen Buchgeschichte dar. Unter der Herrschaft des Ming-Kaisers Yongle wurden der politische Einfluss und die militärische Macht der kaiserlichen Prinzen stark eingeschränkt. Politisch machtlos verlegten sie sich verstärkt auf künstlerische und intellektuelle Betätigungsfelder, was auch im Buchdruck seinen Ausdruck fand. Sie verfügten über die nötigen finanziellen Mittel, um überwiegend hervorragend kollationierte Texte und ebenso hervorragend ausgeführte Drucke und Handschriften herzustellen, ohne dass dabei kommerzielle Interessen eine Rolle hätten spielen müssen.

Im Besitz der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek befinden sich zwei dieser seltenen Drucke: Das Hong wu zheng yun (4 L.sin. A 122) ist durch seinen Verlagsnamen eindeutig dem Prinzen Zhuang von Heng, Zhu Houqiao, zuzuordnen. Das Wen xuan (4 L.sin. I 24) wurde im Lehen Tang herausgegeben, eine eindeutige Datierung ist jedoch nicht möglich.

Drucke des Verlegers Mao Jin

Der berühmte Bibliophile, Sammler und Verleger Mao Jin毛晉 (1599-1659) aus der späten Ming-Dynastie verfügte über eine äußerst umfangreiche Sammlung von Schriften, die er teils käuflich erworben, teils selbst hergestellt hatte. Durch seine Faksimilenachdrucke von Song- und Yuan-Drucken trug er wesentlich dazu bei, dass das ursprüngliche Erscheinungsbild von längst verloren gegangenen Ausgaben erhalten geblieben ist.

In der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek sind seine 17 Dynastiegeschichten (4 L.sin. D 165, 166, 167, 168, 169, 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, 177, 178, 179, 180, 181, 187, 191, 192, 193 und 197), mit deren Herstellung er zwischen 1628 und 1644 in der Ming-Dynastie begonnen hatte, komplett, teils sogar in Zweitexemplaren, vorhanden. Er überarbeitete die Platten zu Beginn der Qing-Dynastie von 1648 bis 1656 und stellte ab 1656 den Druck her. Da sich die Herausgabe der Dynastiegeschichten über zwei Dynastien hinzog, handelt es sich auch hier um eine sogenannte di xiu-Ausgabe.

Die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek verfügt über einen großen Bestand von Mao Jin-Drucken: neben den Dynastiegeschichten u.a. auch über das umfangreiche Sammelwerk Jin dai bi shu (4 L.sin. Aa 308), eine Sammlung von 60 Dramen (4 L.sin. Aa 52) und einige in Mao Jins Verlag publizierte kunsthistorische Schriften (4 L.sin. K 121, 125 , 142, 150 und 293).

Chinesische Handschriften und Drucke der Qing-Zeit

Die qingzeitlichen Sinica der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek stellen einen repräsentativen Querschnitt durch das chinesische Schrifttum dieser Zeit dar, da nicht nur Literatur der politischen und geistigen Elite Chinas erworben wurde, sondern auch anderes Schrifttum, das vor allem auf den Buchmärkten im Süden des chinesischen Kaiserreichs zu erhalten war. So hat sich in München Material erhalten, das in chinesischen Bibliotheken nicht zu finden ist, da man dies in China erst zu einer Zeit zu sammeln begann, als im eigenen Land vieles nicht mehr greifbar war.

Unter den qingzeitlichen Handschriften und Drucken findet sich das Schrifttum der Elite (Hofdrucke, Drucke von Verwaltungseinheiten, kaiserliche Erlasse, Urkunden, bibliophile Privatdrucke etc.) genauso wie sogenannte Volks- oder Gebrauchsliteratur, darunter Romane und Erzählsammlungen, Singspiele und Theaterstücke, Almanache, Weissagebücher, Alltagsenzyklopädien, Medizinhandbücher, religiöse Traktate und Lernmaterialien für die kaiserlichen Beamtenprüfungen. Auch eine Reihe von im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert in China für den Export hergestellte Bilderalben und Malereien auf Pflanzenmarkpapier (sogenannte pith papers) sind vorhanden.

Besonders hingewiesen sei auf die verschiedene Ausgaben des Jieziyuan huazhuan 芥子園畫傳 („Malereihandbuch des Senfkorngartens“) und des Shizhuzhai shuhuapu 十竹斎書画譜 („Kalligraphien und Bilder aus der Zehnbambushalle“) aus dem 18. und 19. Jahrhundert. Bei diesen beiden Werken handelt es sich um berühmte Malereihandbücher und herausragende Werke des chinesischen Farbholzschnitts, von denen die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek einige sehr kunstvolle Exemplare besitzt (z.B. 4 L.sin. K 290).

Chinesische Handschriften und Drucke der christlichen Mission

Eine Besonderheit stellen die im qingzeitlichen China entstandenen Drucke und Handschriften der christlichen Mission dar. Die Bayerische Staatsbibliothek verfügt über 27 Drucke und Handschriften, die im Zusammenhang mit der christlichen Mission in China stehen. Die Drucke sind alle im chinesischen Blockdruckverfahren hergestellt, auch wenn sie teils komplett in Latein verfasst oder nur in Umschrift wiedergegeben sind.

Zum sog. Ritenstreit liegen drei Titel vor (Cod.sin. 30 und das 2. Exemplar Cod.sin. 30 a, Cod.sin. 2931 und Xyl. 51). Zum sog. Kalenderstreit ist ein Titel vorhanden (Cod.sin. 31). Zu den eher seltenen Drucken gehören Tian zhu jiang sheng chu xiang jing ji in zwei nicht ganz identischen Exemplaren (Cod.sin. 23 und 4 L.sin. C 138), Ge zhi cao (Cod.sin. 26), Relatio sepulturae … (Cod.sin. 28), Innocentia victrix …(Cod.sin. 31), Titulus honorificus … (Cod.sin. 112), Apographum eius elogij … (4 L.sin. C 136), Brevis relatio … (Xyl. 51), Gang jian jia zi tu (2 L.sin. D 6) und Hong piao (Cod.sin. 2931). Von den Handschriften ist neben der Notitia Linguae Sinicae (Cod.sin. 1) vor allem ein Chinesisch-Spanisches Wörterbuch (Cod.sin. 3) von 1684 zu nennen. Ausgesprochen selten ist Varos Arte de la lengua Mandarina (Cod.sin. 29): Von den ursprünglich nur ca. 40 gedruckten Exemplaren sind weltweit nur noch ca. 14 nachgewiesen.

In der Regel stammen die Missionsdrucke aus der Sammlung der Wittelsbacher oder aus Klosterbibliotheken, die im Zuge der Säkularisation 1803/04 aufgelöst wurden. Dass diese Zuweisung nicht automatisch erfolgen darf, zeigt das Beispiel des Liber organicus, das aus der Sammlung des Bibliophilen Hans Adam von Reisach (1765-1820) stammt (Cod.sin. 24).

Literatur (Auswahl)

Höllmann, Thomas; Friedrich, Michael (Hrsg.): Handschriften der Yao. Teil 1. Stuttgart 2004. [Verzeichnis der Orientalischen Handschriften in Deutschland, Bd. XLIV,1]

Reismüller, Georg: „Karl Friedrich Neumann. Seine Lern- und Wanderjahre, seine chinesische Büchersammlung.“ In: Aufsätze zur Kultur- und Sprachgeschichte vornehmlich des Orient. Ernst Kuhn zum 70. Geburtstag am 7. Februar 1916 gewidmet von Freunden und Schülern. München 1916, S. 437-456.

Rückert, Ingrid: „‚Die seltensten und kostbarsten Werke chinesischer Literatur’: Karl Friedrich Neumann als Begründer der chinesischen Büchersammlung an der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.“ In: Saeculum60/I (2010), S. 115-142.

Stephan, Renate: „Die Erwerbung chinesischer Literatur für die Münchner Hofbibliothek.“ In: Eikelmann, R. (Hrsg.): Die Wittelsbacher und das Reich der Mitte. 400 Jahre China und Bayern. (Ausstellung, Bayerisches Nationalmuseum, München) München 2009, S. 449-454.

Stephan, Renate: Chinesische und manjurische Handschriften und seltene Drucke. Teil 2. Chinesische Drucke und Handschriften in der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München. Stuttgart 2014. [Verzeichnis der Orientalischen Handschriften in Deutschland, Bd. XII,2].

Tabery, Thomas: „Digitalisierung und Neukatalogisierung chinesischer Handschriften und Drucke der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.“ In: Zeitschrift für Bibliothekswesen und Bibliographie ZfBB 63 (2016), 2, S. 82-89.

Japanische Sammlung

Die japanische Sammlung zählt rund 90.000 gedruckte Bände. Der Aufbau der Sammlung begann erst in den 1950er Jahren. Dabei spielten mehrere Sammelkäufe eine besondere Rolle: Aus dem Besitz eines Bamberger Apothekers in Yokohama gelangten einige Dutzend meijizeitliche Drucke (1868-1905), Fotographien und Spielkarten in die Sammlung. 1972 wurden 190 Drucke der Vor-Meiji-Zeit aus Holland angekauft. Ab 1986 kamen weitere rund 700 Altjaponica in 2.654 Bänden aus einer exzellenten japanischen Gelehrtenbibliothek hinzu. Die Sammlung umfasst eine Vielzahl früher und wertvoller Drucke und Handschriften. Der älteste Druck ist ein Hyakumantō darani (L.jap. C 591) von ca. 764-770. Ein besonderes Juwel ist die um 1615 als Hochzeitsgeschenk für ein Mitglied der Tokugawa-Familie entstandene Prachthandschrift des Genji-Romans (Cod.jap. 18).

Koreanische Sammlung

Die kleine koreanische Sammlung von knapp 3.000 Titeln beinhaltet 610 Bände, die vor 1900 gedruckt wurden. Die Mehrzahl der Altkoreanica reicht bis in das 17. Jahrhundert zurück. Herausragende Stücke sind Kapitel des zwischen 1236 und 1251 auf Ganghwa gedruckten buddhistischen Kanons (4 L.cor. C 81), dessen Druckblöcke heute noch immer komplett im Haeinsa-Kloster aufbewahrt werden, sowie ein 1433 mit beweglichen Tonlettern gedruckter Arzneimittelkatalog (L.cor. M 7).

歷代名臣奏議 神事行燈 連筠簃叢書 貞女 順治八年誥命 梅氏叢書輯要 御纂性理精義 湖海樓叢書 佛頂心大陀羅尼經 賣胭脂 (新梆子腔) 兵庫名所記 四方之薰 說文解字. 1 本朝廿四孝 秘書廿八種. 26, Di 26 ce : 古魯詩 天主實義 左繡 大般若波羅蜜多經 人相水鏡集全編 百人一首一夕話 十六國春秋 (口英)咭唎国新出种痘奇书 漁人圖 呂祖大化歌 性理體註訓解標題 讀書雜釋. 2 萬物真原 井蛙抄 小腆紀年坿考. 5 隨園詩話全集 怡顔齋櫻品 秘書廿八種. 2, Di 2 ce : 汲冢周書 女筆若みと里 北齋麁画 菅原流筆道要訣 百官略 本草求真. 8 賣茶翁偈語 霞客遊記. 9 唐代叢書 太平樂府 鴨厓賴先生一日百詩 江戶料理集 張遠兩友相論 農政全書. 5 繡像封神演義. 1, Di 1-10 ce 孔子家語 歌格類選 百篇大全 夢中問答集 河洛理數 北齋女今川 本草求真. 11 椀久松山歲男金豆蒔 鄉守輯要. 2 新撰六帖題和歌 Zōtei 華英通語 五經集字 隋書 考史拾遺 水滸畫傳 滿漢奏議 撫育草 古今茶道全書 回文類聚 金瓶梅 (第一奇書). 8 すみよし[住吉]物語 泰山志. 3 金剛般若波羅蜜經如義 本朝神社考 國朝應試排律金針 挑線櫃 本朝古今銘盡 送寒衣全本湘子記 世事百談 大清律例增訂會通新纂 大戴禮記 峻石法 重纂福建通志 初學明珠 海岸砲術備要 柳文惠公全集 說鈴. 1, Bd. 1, 前集, Di 1-5 ce 傷寒補注精法 幼今川 七經精義 劉金定灌藥 道光文書 (1821-1850) 庚子道の記 三養雑記 白文詠. 國風 平定粤匪紀略 佛說盂蘭盆經疏 重刻秘傳花鏡 商家心得草 天罡地煞圖 山東浙江四次發現聖蹟 春秋左傳綱目杜林詳註 初學記 通志